Let it Snow! Then Grill: Lemon Pepper Chicken

This past week was crazier than usual…for me and everyone else, I’m sure!  The holidays are upon us and it’s go-go-go!   But last week I found myself battling one of those nasty-just-want-to-be-in-bed colds.  I didn’t feel like doing anything, least of all eating or cooking.  My boys probably would have been fine eating their way through the stack of pizzas in the freezer, but…ick. Thankfully, my husband, a.k.a. the Grill Master, was home and eager to pitch in.  After all, it would be the first snow-filled grilling opportunity of the season.  An event he eagerly awaits!

While most northern climate grillers are covering and wheeling their grills into storage away from the bitter cold winds, the Grill Master is busy making sure he has enough propane to get us safely through the coldest season.   I admit, I am jealous of the Grill Master’s cold weather grilling skills.  He can keep a gas grill lit with winds over 30 miles an hour and in temperatures well into single digits.  I could never do that, but for him it’s just part of the fun. Last week I was glad he was up for fun!

While the Grill Master shoveled off the patio, I seasoned 4.5 pounds worth of chicken breast tenders. That is far more than we’ll eat in one evening, but I have several good recipes that can be made from this simple grilled meat.  Even in my bleary cold-induced state, I could see a week’s worth of meals in the making.

First, I lightly brushed each of chicken tender with olive oil, then generously seasoned them with a mixture of garlic and onion powder, salt, lemon zest, and freshly ground black Tellicherry black pepper.  Once seasoned, I handed the platter out the door, and the Grill Master got to work grilling them for 22 minutes, rotating and flipping them about every 5-6 minutes.

While he grilled the chicken, I seasoned the naan.  Naan is a flatbread that has quickly become a staple in my home.  You can grill it, microwave it, or just eat it fresh if you want.  For this meal I seasoned it with olive oil, garlic, onion and bit of parsley.

Once the chicken was done, the Grill Master and I switched platters, I took the chicken indoors, he took the naan.  Each slice of naan takes no more than 1-2 minutes to grill.  Grill each side.

While the naan was grilling, I plated the chicken and salad greens, poured beverages, and presto, our first meal of the week.  From the time I started prepping until we were seated at the table was less than 40 minutes.  I was beginning to feel a bit better.  The family was fed.  My husband had kicked-off winter grilling.  And I knew there were more meals in the making…..stay tuned!

Beth

3 responses to “Let it Snow! Then Grill: Lemon Pepper Chicken

    • Yes, it was! Also, if you have any spicy (or sweet) Texas style recipes that you’d like to share, feel free to email them to me at morethanoregano@gmail.com. I’d love to give them a try and post about them. Of course, I’ll let everyone know who recommended them!

  1. Pingback: Grilled Lemon Pepper Chicken Goes Tex-Mex « More Than Oregano·

Leave a Reply

